Life goes on and on

To those folks that actually come here (the blog) regularly, I apologize for the lack of material the last and this coming week–life requires attention and mine has.

The continuing search for employment has resulted with (very fortunately) two interviews this week; one in Houston tomorrow (Tuesday) afternoon and the second in Austin on Wednesday morning, which allows me a few hours tomorrow night to spend with my father north of Austin where I’ll spend the night.  These are the only serious interest that I’ve garnered since I began this recent search in January. The obvious result if either opportunities shake out is we’ll be moving from the DFW area where we’ve lived (for all but 2 years) since the early 80s and where three of four sons (and families)  live, but such is need over want when looking for work.

Another opportunity has graced my time the last week as well, an offer to get my recent fiction (a sample here on my My Novels Page) in front of someone that has ties to publishing. So, I have been working to clean up and edit three representative chapters from the novel to submit for review and input, if nothing else, but hopefully to be passed on to an agent or editor. Of course, y’all know that I’d prefer this avenue to employment–writing for a living–but, I will wait until I hear if my work is worthy, and I receive a big-ass check before I quit looking for substantive employment.

Finally, our beloved 10 year old SamChow (Samoyed Chow mix), Illya, has been diagnosed with complete kidney failure. He isn’t much changed from when he was younger, so no noticeable indications of the illness, we just happened to find out through blood testing only because of my concern for some lost weight and the vet noticing his gums seemed pale–btw, there is no standard for blood testing for dogs or cats unless there are obvious indicators. Needless to say, this is terrible news as we have lost  four furrkids in less than two years. Regardless of that and how dear Illya is to us, facing another passing is just heart-wrenching. We have been running back and forth to the vet for meds and special food, in fact I have to take him in for a 48 hour fluids therapy this morning–drop him off today and pick him up on my return from my interview trip Wednesday afternoon. We hope that all our efforts can give him a comfortable life for a little while longer, again he shows no outward evidenceof his dibilitating disease, but when it comes down to it, we will not let him suffer.

All in all, fortune seems to be smiling on me momentarily and I intend to take advantage as best I can, but life goes on and other less fortunate issues come along to ensure we don’t forget that life is tenuous at best. One must take everything one step and day at a time and weather what storms that come, but enjoy the sunshine that lightens our lives.

With that said, I don’t understand the thought process of these arrogant murders, that we’ve been bombarded with the last few weeks, that walk into a Civic Center, Assisted Living Home, neighbor’s or relatives’ homes, etc. and start blowing away people just because their life sucks at the moment. Nor, of course, do I understand the Islamofascist suicide bomber or terrorist intent on killing and maiming en masspeople just going about their business because their god has promised 72 virgins or a heroic death. To my way of thinking, there is no differnece between the two groups–they have NO regard to the living and only care about how they are treated and thought of afterward–Arrogant Assholes all!

One Response to “Life goes on and on”

  1. Life Goes On & On… Part 2, an Update « The KBook Report Says:

    […] Life Goes On & On… Part 2, an Update By kentbook For those that are interested or care, an Update on my Monday Post– […]

Leave a Reply

