Stimulus Deal? So, where’s MY job?

Those that know me well, and maybe some of those other few that stop in here to read, know that I was laid off the last week of December; primarily due to the economic crisis, and specifically, the absolute dying of consumer and DOD electronics orders.

I’m a technical sales guy. I have sold everything from ion-implanters (used in the process of semiconductor chips manufacturing) to Heating and Air Conditioning; from CAD equipment to printed circuit boards, and then driller/routers in the printed circuit board manufacturing industry to dry ice blasters for non-destructive industrial cleaning. So, if you notice, they’re all driven by consumer needs or requirements.

Now, from one minute to the next I cannot tell you what’s in or what’s out of the Stimulus Bill that the Senate RINOs (Snow/Collins/Spectre, oops, Specter) caved into Reid for a piece of the pie and seems to be poised to pass on Tuesday. There is a tiny tax cut for businesses that hopefully will encourage expansion and hiring. There is going to be “tax cuts” in the form of money/checks to “taxpayers”, and maybe that will drive a revitalization of consumer wants & desires.

The majority of the bill is spending on Democrat-favored pork, they’re earmarks (even though the Democrats refuse to call it that) programs and social engineering.

Oh sure, there are the shovel-ready projects like water slides, frisbee golf courses, dog parks that might produce jobs (what, those three need around 20 folks–ooh, wow, sign me up). Then there are the infrastructure rebuilding and planning that should produce jobs, but those will be subcontracted out to companies that specialize in that type of work who already have employees. Maybe not enough, so perhaps that will create a 10-20% increase in employment at dirt cheap wages, unless you’re a heavy machinery operator (perhaps I should be going to one of those tranining schools; although, if I can drive a submarine–which I’ve done–then how hard can a bulldozer be?).

All the other spending is programs that will NOT create jobs–STD Prevention & Education programs (I hear it’s in, then it’s out; but I’m with Sean Hannity, you wouldn’t need this item at all if you QUIT having sex with strangers!); money to the National Endowment for the Arts (hey, I write, give me me some of that); BILLIONS are going to (are you ready) ACORN! (Well, I guess it does take money to rig elections and pay voters to vote 10-30 times.) There’s hundreds of millions to billions of dollars for research and investigation of non-existent Anthropogenic (man-made) Global Warming or Climate Change, as the Goracle is trying to re-brand it as more and more actual planetary/geologic/environmental scientist are coming out exposing the hoax. More Millions will be sent to left-winged National Public(?) Radio; and  hundreds of  billions and billions to things we don’t even know about.  Billions to do away with oil production and invest in pie-in-the-sky environmentally-friendly energy that will do nothing, again in the short term, but raise our energy costs. But, tell me how many jobs are going to be created with this specific spending?

The spending is supposed to and is directed to stimulate the economy in the short term. The shovel-ready and infrastructure projects won’t even start this year for the most part, and in most cases not before 2010! The social projects/programs will create little if no private sector jobs, if a few are created they will be governement jobs–growing the government again–and how do you get those jobs?

And I have a problem with the Republican plans as well–they’re harping on fixing the Housing and Automobile debacles! ‘They’re what started this mess.’ They want to bail out the folks under the threat of  foreclosure (now, I can sympathise with them, but my understanding was that was part of the November TARP bailout); and give tax credits to folks that buy homes and cars? I’m out of work, trying to manage living expenses and stay in my rental home on the paltry sum of $1512 a month from unemployment insurance. The last thing I am planning on doing in the near foreseeable future is buy a house or new car! And the one thing in the bill I thought I could use was helping pay COBRA health insurance and the damn Republicans cut that out! Geez!

I’d prefer to make a living writing. I mean, I have four complete novels finished (about a total of 1300 pages ready for print), a fantasy trilogy and a espionage/terrorist novel, but I can’t find an agent or a publisher. I’m a neophyte and trying to weed through the minutia and break into the clique to get published is nearly impossible without help from someone inside. I have another eleven novels to write in the fantasy series, four more with my new recurring intelligence character and then one or two others. These are all working in my head, but I have no way to get them out while trying to find a job consuming my life right now, but if I was published, then I could; wait, that’s the Catch-22, isn’t it. Oh well.

So, my question is this, of the 825 Billion to 1 Trillion (after it goes back through Congress and Pelosi adds back in what the Senate stripped out) spending and tax cuts where is my job? Although, I’m not abject to physical labor, those construction jobs will go to others before I get in line as there really won’t be that many jobs created and they’ll be going to base line pay grades. I’m a technical guy, I carried a electronics’ field engineering toolkit before I moved into sales some 20+ years ago, so my technical troubleshooting expertise is far out of state-of-the-art.

I know I will find a job, I always do, but with this economic malaise/crisis/atmosphere it will probably be a while. My point in being so honest and forthcoming here in this post is to articulate what most of us that are unemployed are feeling right now. The Stimulus does NOTHING to create enough jobs to make a difference, nor does it Stimulate the economy to create the jobs needed. It rewards those that the Democrats favor and got Obama elected, it rewards those that already screwed up or failed their customers in business, and rewards those that want the government to take over their lives and ensure that they continue their free ride on the government dole.

I stated this in my last post, Obama has failed and is ignoring or denying it–this is not a win for America and the people know it. The President is, in fact, ignoring the Polls that show there is less than 40% in favor of the bill, but Onama/Pelosi/Reid always state that the Majority of Americans are in favor–I guess they can’t read. Hey, that would explain why they don’t pay their taxes; that and they know where that money goes–so why pay them if it’s just getting flushed along with the other crap that they put out.

Leave a Reply

